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History of Statute of Limitations for Sex Offenses 
 
 
Statute of limitations is a time limit in which a lawsuit may be claimed.  Once the statute of 
limitations has expired, a claim can no longer occur.  Statute of limitations for sex offenses 
includes criminal and civil limitations.  Washington State has both criminal and civil statutes of 
limitations for sex offenses. 
 
These statutes have been periodically modified since the 1980s.  The table on the following 
pages shows proposed and passed legislation to modify criminal and civil statutes of limitations 
that pertain to sex offenses since 19911

 
.    

In 2008, Senate Bill 6362 proposed that the Sentencing Guidelines Commission (SGC) review 
both the criminal and civil statute of limitations for sex offenses and report any 
recommendations.  That bill did not pass but the sponsors requested the SGC still conduct the 
review.  The result of the SGC’s review was Senate Bill 5832, which extended the criminal 
statute of limitations to the victim’s twenty-eighth birthday for specific sex offenses.  This bill 
passed and was signed into law in 2009. 
 
In 2011, the Sex Offender Policy Board (SOPB) was requested to review Washington’s sex 
offense statute of limitations in the context of best practice and effectiveness.  This request was 
in response to House Bill 1657 (2011) and to information provided by various stakeholders 
regarding the influence of the statute of limitations has on subsequent crimes against 
additional victims. 
 
  

                                                           
1 The electronic collection of legislative bills on the Legislature’s website only goes back to 1991. www.leg.wa.gov.  
 

http://www.leg.wa.gov/�
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Criminal and Civil Statutes of Limitations 
Bills Proposed to and/or Passed the Legislature 

1991 to 2011 
 
Bill Session Passed Bill Description 
HB 1657 2011 No Removes the criminal statute of limitation for: 

· Rape 1 and Rape 2 when the victim is under 18 at the 
time of the crime 

· Rape of a Child 1 and Rape of a Child 2 
HB 2960 2008 No Removes the criminal statute of limitation for: 

· Rape 1 and Rape 2 when the victim is under 18 at the 
time of the crime 

· Rape of a Child 1 and Rape of a Child 2 
· Indecent Liberties with Forcible Compulsion when the 

victim is under 18 at the time of the crime 
HB 1320 2007 No Removes the criminal statute of limitation for: 

· Rape 1 and Rape 2 when the victim is under 18 at the 
time of the crime 

· Rape of a Child 1 and Rape of a Child 2 
HB 2131 2007 No Removes the criminal statute of limitation for any sex offense 

committed against a child under the age of 18 
SB 5817 2007 No Removes the criminal statute of limitation for any sex offense 

committed against a child under the age of 18 
HB 2408 2006 No Changes the start of criminal statute of limitations for sex 

offenses as defined by RCW 9.94A.030 to be either: 
· The date of the offense; or  
· 1 year from the date the identity of the offender is 

established by DNA testing, whichever is later 
HB 2968 2006 No Changes the start of criminal statute of limitations for sex 

offenses as defined by RCW 9.94A.030 to be either: 
· The date of the offense; or  
· 1 year from the date the identity of the offender is 

established by DNA testing, whichever is later 
SB 6408 2006 No Changes the start of criminal statute of limitations for sex 

offenses as defined by RCW 9.94A.030 to be either: 
· The date of the offense; or  
· 1 year from the date the identity of the offender is 

established by DNA testing, whichever is later 
SB 6881 2006 No Removes the civil statute of limitation for a sex offense as 

defined by chapter 9A.44 RCW 
SSB 5042 2006 Yes Changes the start of criminal statute of limitations for sex 

offenses as defined by RCW 9.94A.030 to be either: 
· The date of the offense; or  
· 1 year from the date the identity of the offender is 

established by DNA testing, whichever is later 
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Bill Session Passed Bill Description 
SHB 1453 2005 No Removes the criminal statute of limitation for: 

· Rape 1 and Rape 2 when the victim is under 18 at the 
time of the crime 

· Rape of a Child 1 and Rape of a Child 2 
HB 2395 2004 No Changes the civil statute of limitations for childhood sexual 

abuse to within 10 years of the offense date (from within 3 
years) 

HB 1089 2003 No Removes the criminal statute of limitations for any sex offense 
defined in 9A.44.130(9)(a)2

SB 5842 
 

2003 No Changes the civil statute of limitations for childhood sexual 
abuse to any time before the child reaches the age of 30 years 

SHB 1040 2003 No Changes the civil statute of limitations for childhood sexual 
abuse to within 10 years across the board (from within 3 years) 

SB 6134 2000 No Removes the criminal statute of limitations for offenses under 
chapter 9A.44 (sex offenses) or 9.68A (sexual exploitation of 
children) RCW or RCW 9A.64.020 (incest) 

SB 5463 1997 No Created a new civil statute of limitations of 5 years across the 
board for developmentally disabled persons injured by sexual 
abuse. 

SB 6228 1996 No Created a new civil statute of limitations of 3 years across the 
board for developmentally disabled persons injured by sexual 
abuse. 

SB 5006 1993 No Changes the criminal statute of limitations for certain sex 
offenses3

SB 5541 
 to 7 years after the victim’s 18th birthday (from 3) 

1993 Yes Changes the criminal statute of limitations for Rape 1 and Rape 
2 offenses to: 

· 10 years if reported within 1 year of offense; 
· 3 years after the victim’s 18th birthday if the victim was 

under 14 years at offense and if reported within 1 year 
of offense; or 

· 10 years after the offense if the victim was under 14 
years at offense and if reported within 1 year; 

· 3 years after the offense if the victim was 14 years or 
older at offense and not reported  within 1 year; or  

· 3 years after the victim’s 18th birthday if the victim was 
under 14 years and not reported within 1 year; or 

· 7 years after the offense if the victim was under 14 
years and not reported within 1 year, or whichever is 
later 

                                                           
2 Includes any offense defined by RCW 9.94A.030; sexual misconduct with a minor 2 (RCW 9A.44.096); 
communication with a minor for immoral purposes (RCW 9.68A.090); any similar federal or out of state offense; 
any gross misdemeanor that is, under chapter 9a.48 RCW, an anticipatory of any of the above offenses. 
3 Includes rape of a child 1 (RCW 9A.44.073), rape of a child 2 (RCW 9A.44.076), child molestation 1 (RCW 
9A.44.083), child molestation 2 (RCW 9A.44.086), statutory rape 1 (RCW 9A.44.070), statutory rape 2 (RCW 
9A.44.080) and indecent liberties – disabled person (RCW 9A.44.100(1)(b)). 
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Bill Session Passed Bill Description 
HB 2530 1992 No Changed the current criminal statute of limitations to be 10 

years after the offense (from 7). 
 
Adds language for another time period: more than 3 years after 
discovery of the offender’s violation of any of the following 
statutes, whichever is latest:  

ESHB 2058 1991 Yes Changes the current civil statute of limitations to be within 3 
years of the offense or of the time the victim discovered the 
injury was caused by said act. 
 
Adds language for another time period: within 3 years of the 
time the victim discovered that the act caused the injury for 
which the claim is brought. 
 
Adds language denoting claims shall be commenced within the 
later of the three time periods. 

 


