
Review of  
Washington’s Statute of Limitations 

 
RCW Crime Prosecution 

Timeframe Age Comments 

 

Washington State Sex Offender Policy Board    Statute of Limitations April 2012 
 

     
9A.04.080(1)(b) (iii)(A)Rape 1st Degree (9A.44.040) 10 Years >14 Years Reported to Law Enforcement w/in 1 year and 

victim over 14 years of age 

(iii)(A)Rape 2nd Degree (9A.44.050) 10 Years >14 Years Reported to Law Enforcement w/in 1 year and 
victim over 14 years of age 

9A.04.080(1) (iii)(A)Rape 1st Degree (9A.44.040) Up to 28th 
birthday < 14 Years Reported to Law Enforcement w/in 1 year and 

victim under 14 years of age 
9A.04.080(1) (iii)(A)Rape 2nd Degree (9A.44.050) Up to 28th 

birthday < 14 Years Reported to Law Enforcement w/in 1 year and 
victim under 14 years of age 

9A.04.080(1)(c) Rape of Child 1st Degree (9A.44.073) Up to 28th 
Birthday < 12 Years Less than 12 years of age  & 24 months older 

Rape of Child 2nd Degree (9A.44.076) Up to 28th 
Birthday 12-14 Years At least 12 years of age but less than 14, & 36 

months older 

Child Molestation 1st Degree (9A.44.083) Up to 28th 
Birthday < 12 Years Less than 12 years of age & 36 months older 

Child Molestation 2nd Degree (9A.44.086) Up to 28th 
Birthday 12-14 Years At least 12 years of age but less than 14, & 36 

months older 

Rape of a Child 3rd Degree (9A.44.079) Up to 28th 
Birthday 14-16 Years At least 14 years of age but less than 16 & 48 

months older 

Child Molestation 3rd Degree (9A.44.089) Up to 28th 
Birthday 14-16 Years At least 14 years of age but less than 16 & 48 

months older 

Indecent Liberties (9A.44.100(1)(b) Up to 28th 
Birthday  

When the other person is incapable of consent by 
reason of being mentally defective, mentally 
incapacitated, or physically helpless 

Incest (9A.64.020) Up to 28th 
Birthday  “Descendant” includes step & adopted children 

under 18 years of age 
9A.04.080(1)(B) (B)(I)Rape 1st Degree (9A.44.040)  3 Years >14 Years Not Reported to Law Enforcement w/in 1 year and 

victim over 14 years of age 

(B)(II)Rape 1st Degree (9A.44.040) 3 Years / 7 
Years < 14 Years 3 Years after 18th birthday, OR 7 Years after the 

rape’s commission; whichever is later. 
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The crimes listed may be prosecuted at any time 
after their commission 

(i)Murder 
(ii)Homicide by Abuse 
(iii)Arson = Death 
(iv)Vehicular Homicide 
(v)Vehicular Assault = Death 
(vi)Hit & Run = Death 

9A.04.080(1)(b) (i) Felony Committed by Public Officer 10 Years -  
 (ii)Arson≠ Death 10 Years -  
9A.04.080(1)(B)     

(i)Leading Organized Crime (9A.82.060) 6 Years   
(i)Criminal Profiteering (9A.82.080) 6 Years   
(ii)Money Laundering (9A.83) 6 Years   
(iii)Identity Crimes(9.35) 6 Years   
(iv)Theft & Robbery (9A.56) 6 Years   

9A.04.080(1)(f) Bigamy (9A.64.010)  3 Years   
9A.04.080(1)(g) Theft 1st Degree (9A.56.030) 3 Years  3 Years after the discovery when victim is tax 

exempt corporation 26 U.S.C. Sec. 501(c)(3) 
9A.04.080(1)(h) Felony* 3 Years  *No other felony prosecuted more than 3 years 

except 9A.44.115 (Voyeurism) 
9A.04.080(1)(i) Gross Misdemeanor 2 Years   
9A.04.080(1)(j) Misdemeanor 1 Year   

< = Less Than   > = Greater Than 

Sexual assault statute of limitation prosecution timeframes determined by “commission of the crime.” 

All other crime type statute of limitation prosecution timeframes determined by “their commission or their discovery.” 


