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Obtaining Relief from Sex or Kidnapping
Offender Registration

How long are sex or kidnap P ing offenders This fact sheet is intended to summarize
required to register? relevant laws related to Sex and
Kidnapping offenders for general
Adult Offenders understanding. It is not intended to
comprehensively re-state all the duties
Lifetime Registration. Offenders convicted in required of an offender for compliance
Washington state of an offense involving forcible with the law. Please consult any attorney
compulsion (Rape 1, Rape 2 or Indecent Liberties with any questions.
with Forcible Compulsion) that was committed

after June 8, 2000, and offenders who have been

adjudicated as sexually violent predators under RCW 71.09, must register for life.
They are not eligible to petition for relief from sex offender registration. Although
these offenders may not be relieved from registration requirements, they may petition
the court to be exempted from community notification requirements after 15
consecutive years from the last date of release from confinement if they have not
been convicted of a disqualifying offense during that time.

Indefinite Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class A
telony sex or kidnapping offense, or who have been convicted of two or more sex or
kidnapping offenses or required by federal, tribal or out-of-state aunthesittes court
must register indefinitely. They may, however, petition for relief from the duty to
register after a specified period of time. Those convicted of Class A sex and
kidnapping offenses in Washington may petition the court for relief from the duty to
register after 10 consecutive years in the community with no new disqualifying
offenses. Those convicted of any sex or kidnapping offense in federal, tribal or out of
state courts, may petition the court for relief from the duty to register after 15
consecutive years in the community with no new disqualifying offenses.

15 years of Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class B
telony who do not have one or more prior convictions for a sex or kidnapping
offense, shall register for 15 consecutive years after the last date of release from
confinement or the date of sentencing if there is no further confinement, so long as
they are not convicted of any new disqualifying offenses during that time. Class B sex
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and kidnapping offenders may petition the court for relief from the duty to register
after 10 consecutive years in the community with no new disqualifying offenses.

10 years of Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class C
telony, or a gross misdemeanor in violation of RCW 9.68A.090 (Communicating with
a Minor for Immoral Purposes) or RCW 9A.44.096 (Sexual Misconduct with a Minor
2), or a gross misdemeanor attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a Class C
telony who do not have one or more prior convictions for a sex or kidnapping
offense, shall register for 10 consecutive years after the last date of release from
confinement or the date of sentencing if no further confinement, so long as they are
not convicted of any new disqualifying offenses during that time.

Juvenile Offenders

Five Years Minimum Registration. A juvenile adjudicated of a Class A sex or
kidnapping offense that was committed when they were 15 years old or older must
register for a minimum of five years after the date of adjudication. Does this leave
readers with false hope?

Two Years Minimum Registration. All other juveniles adjudicated of a sex or
kidnaping offense must register for a minimum of two years after the date of
adjudication. Does this leave readers with false hope?

Who may petition for relief of sex or kidnapping registration requirements?

Adult Offenders

Washington State Offenders. Offenders who were convicted as adults in
Washington state of a Class A or Class B sex or kidnapping offense who have spent
ten consecutive years in the community without being convicted of a disqualifying
offense and who have not been determined to be a sexually violent predator under
Chapter 71.09 RCW, may petition the court of conviction for relief from the duty to
registet.

Federal, Tribal and Out of State Adult Offenders. Offenders who were convicted
as an adult in a federal, tribal, or out of state court who have spent fifteen consecutive
years in the community without being convicted of a disqualifying offense, and who
have not been determined to be a sexually violent predator under Chapter 71.09
RCW, may petition the Superior Court in the county where they reside for relief from
the duty to register.
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Juvenile Offenders

Offenders who were adjudicated or convicted as juveniles in Washington or any
other court, who have not been convicted of any new sex or kidnapping or Failure to
Register offenses during the required waiting period, and who have not been
determined to be a sexually violent predator, regardless of whether the conviction was
in Washington state may petition for relief from the duty to register.

When may the court relieve a petitioner of the duty to register?

Adult Offenders. An adult offender may be relieved from the duty to register only if

they have been in the community the required period of time (10 or 15 consecutive

years) with no new disqualifying offenses and they show by clear and convincing

evidence that they are sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant removal from the registry.

Juvenile Offenders. A juvenile offender may be relieved from the duty to register

under the following circumstances:

Type of offense

Time since offense

Other requirements

Class A* Sex or Kidnapping
Offenses adjudicated in
Juvenile Court and committed
when the juvenile was 15 years
old or older

At least 60 consecutive months
have passed since adjudication
and any term of confinement;
with no new adjudications for
sex offenses, kidnaping
offenses, or Failure to Register.

The offender must prove by a
preponderance of the evidence
that they have been sufficiently
rehabilitated to be relieved of
the duty to register.

All other Sex or Kidnapping
Offenses adjudicated in
Juvenile Court.

At least 24 consecutive months
have passed since adjudication
and any term of confinement;
with no new adjudications for
sex offenses, kidnaping
offenses, or Failure to Register.

The offender must prove by a
preponderance of the evidence
that they have been sufficiently
rehabilitated to be relieved of
the duty to register.

*Class A refers to those offenses which have a maximum sentence of life in prison for adults. This is separate
from the Class designations of the Juvenile Sentencing Guidelines which assign each offense a letter ranking

from E to A+.

Juvenile Offender Registration.

In Washington State Juvenile Sex Offender Registration length is based on the

criminal offense category designated by statute pursuant (9A.44.040 — 115). The

Juvenile Sentencing Grid is not used for determining the length of Juvenile Sex

Offender Registration. Please use the Adult Criminal Offense Category when

determining the length of registration.
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Example:

Juvenile Sentencing
Category Adult Criminal
Offense (Not Used for Offense Category
determining length of RCW 9A.44.040 - .115
Registration)

Rape 1 A A
Rape 2 A- A
Rape of Child 1 A- A
Rape of Child 2 B+ A
Child Molestation 1 A- A
Child Molestation 2 B B
Indecent liberties with Forcible Compulsion B+ A

What is the burden of proof to successfully petition for relief from the duty to
register?

Adult Offenders. The court may relieve an adult petitioner of the duty to register
only if he or she shows by clear and convincing evidence that they are sufficiently
rehabilitated to warrant removal from the central registry.

Juvenile Offenders. The court may relieve a juvenile petitioner if he or she shows by
a preponderance of the evidence that they are sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant
removal from the central registry.

What factors does the court consider when determining whether an offender is
sufficiently rehabilitated?

In determining whether the petitioner is sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant removal
from the registry, the following factors are provided as guidance to assist the court in
making its determination:

e The nature of the registrable offense committed including the number of

victims and the length of the offense history;

e Any subsequent criminal history;

e DPetitioner’s compliance with supervision requirements;

e Length of time since the charged incident(s) occurred,;

e Any input from the community corrections officers, law enforcement, or
treatment providers;
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e Participation in sex offender treatment;

e Participation in other treatment and rehabilitative programs;

e DPetitioner’s stability in employment and housing;

e DPetitioner’s community and personal support system;

e Any risk assessment’s or evaluations prepared by a qualified professional;
e Any updated polygraph examinations;

e Any input from the victim;

e Any other factors the court may consider relevant.

If a person is relieved of the duty to register pursuant to this section, the relief of
registration does not constitute a certificate of rehabilitation, or the equivalent of a
certificate of rehabilitation, for the purposes of restoration of firearm possession

under RCW 9.41.040.

Which court does the offender petition and who does the offender serve notice
to?

The offender shall submit the petition to the court that required he or she to register.
If the offender was convicted out-of-state, or in a federal or foreign country, the
offender shall petition the superior court in the county where the person is registered.
The prosecuting attorney of the county shall be named and served as a respondent in
the petition.

What kind of forms are available for use to petition the court?

Pattern forms for Relief from Offender Registration Requirements are located at

www.courts.wa.cov under “Forms.”

Disqualifying Offenses. What is a “disqualifying offense?”

RCW 9A.44.128(3) defines disqualifying offenses as a conviction for: any offense that
is a felony; a sex offense as defined in chapter 9A.44 RCW; a crime against children or
petsons as defined in RCW 43.43.830(7)' and 9.94A.411(2)(a)"; an offense with a
domestic violence designation as provided in RCW 10.99.020; permitting the
commercial sexual abuse of a minor as defined in RCW 9.68A.103; or any violation of
chapter 9A.88 RCW (indecent exposure, prostitution related offense).
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http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.41.040
http://www.courts.wa.gov/

i RCW 43.43.830(7). Crimes Against Children or Persons.

"Crime against children or other persons" means a conviction of any of the following offenses: Aggravated
murder; first or second degree murder; first or second degree kidnapping; first, second, or third degree
assault; first, second, or third degree assault of a child; first, second, or third degree rape; first, second, or
third degree rape of a child; first or second degree robbery; first degree arson; first degree burglary; first or
second degree manslaughter; first or second degree extortion; indecent liberties; incest; vehicular homicide;
first degree promoting prostitution; communication with a minor; unlawful imprisonment; simple assault;
sexual exploitation of minors; first or second degree criminal mistreatment; endangerment with a controlled
substance; child abuse or neglect as defined in RCW 26.44.020; first or second degree custodial interference;
first or second degree custodial sexual misconduct; malicious harassment; first, second, or third degree child
molestation; first or second degree sexual misconduct with a minor; commercial sexual abuse of a minor;
child abandonment; promoting pornography; selling or distributing erotic material to a minor; custodial
assault; violation of child abuse restraining order; child buying or selling; prostitution; felony indecent
exposure; criminal abandonment; or any of these crimes as they may be renamed in the future.

TRCW 9.94A.411(2)(a): Crimes Against Persons.

Aggravated murder, 1st degree murder, 2nd degree murder, 1st degree manslaughter, 2nd degree
manslaughter, 1st degree kidnapping, 2nd degree kidnapping, 1st degree assault, 2nd degree assault, 3rd
degree assault, 1st degree assault of a child, 2nd degree assault of a child, 3rd degree assault of a child, 1st
degree rape, 2nd degree rape, 3rd degree rape, 1st degree rape of a child, 2nd degree rape of a child, 3rd
degree rape of a child, 1st degree robbery, 2nd degree robbery, 1st degree arson, 1st degree burglary, 1st
degree identity theft, 2nd degree identity theft, 1st degree extortion, 2nd degree extortion, indecent liberties,
incest, vehicular homicide, vehicular assault, 1st degree child molestation, 2nd degree child molestation, 3rd
degree child molestation, 1st degree promoting prostitution, intimidating a juror, communication with a
minor, intimidating a witness, intimidating a public servant, bomb threat (if against person), unlawful
imprisonment, promoting a suicide attempt, riot (if against person), stalking, custodial assault, domestic
violence court order violation (RCW 10.99.040, 10.99.050, 26.09.300, 26.10.220, 26.26.138, 26.50.110,
26.52.070, or 74.34.145), counterfeiting (if a violation of RCW 9.16.035(4)), felony driving a motor vehicle
while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug (RCW 46.61.502(6)), felony physical control of a
motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug (RCW 46.61.504(0)).
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