Level of Comparative/Contributory Negligence and Joint and Several Liability
For States with No or Long-term Civil Statute of Limitations on Sex Offenses

Alaska Action may be brought at any time for violations of the following
offenses:

Felony sexual abuse of a minor;
Felony sexual assault; or
Unlawful exploitation of a minor

Action must be commenced within 3 years of the accrual of the
claim for relief for the following offenses:

Misdemeanor sexual abuse of a minor;
Misdemeanor sexual assault;

Incest; or

Felony indecent exposure

Connecticut Sexual Abuse, Exploitation or Assault to a minor:

No later than 30 years from the date the person attains
the age of majority

Sexual Assault 1 or Aggravated Sexual Assault 1

Action may be brought at any time after the date of the
act

Pure comparative negligence state

Negligence of the claimant will reduce the claimant’s
recoverable damages. Calculation of recoverable damages
involves reducing the damages by the proportion that the
claimant’s own fault bears to the total fault.

Contributory negligence is no longer applicable in AK.

Pure Several Liability

Assess damages against each party only according to its own
degree of fault.

Modified Comparative Negligence

If the plaintiff's contributory negligence does not bar
recovery (if not greater than the combined negligence of the
person(s) against whom recovery is sought), damages will be
diminished in proportion to the percentage of negligence
attributed to the plaintiff.

Comparative Fault

Joint and several liability was abolished by statute. Each
party against whom recovery is allowed shall be liable to the
plaintiff only for such party’s proportionate share of the
recoverable damages.

Sex Offender Policy Board — Statute of Limitations
Keri-Anne Jetzer
6/13/12



Level of Comparative/Contributory Negligence and Joint and Several Liability
For States with No or Long-term Civil Statute of Limitations on Sex Offenses

Delaware The Child Victim’s Act of 2007 removed the statute of limitations Comparative Negligence

for civil suits relating to child sexual abuse

lllinois Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was
under 18 years of age:

Within 20 years after the person attains the age of 18
years; or
Within 20 years of the date of discovery

Predator Accountability:

Within 10 years after the person attains the age of 18

A plaintiff may recover damages if not more than 50% at
fault; the recovery may be reduced by the percentage of
plaintiff’s negligence

Joint Tortfeasors

The joint tortfeasor statutory definition differs from the
common law definition. Under common law, a finding of 1%
negligence could result in the defendant paying the entire
judgment. Under statute, the defendant is entitled to
contribution from the other defendant(s).

DE does recognize joint and several liability among
defendants.

Contributory Negligence

If contributory negligence of the plaintiff is 51% or more of
the total fault, the plaintiff will recover nothing. If the
contributory negligence is 50% or less, the verdict will be
reduced commensurate with the plaintiff’s degree of fault.

Joint and several liability

All defendants found liable are jointly and severally liable for
a plaintiff’'s medical and medically related expenses. For

! The Predator Accountability Act includes the acts of ‘sex trade’ (i.e. promoting prostitution, exploitation of a child, child pornography, etc.) which may involved adults and

youth. 740 ILCS 128/10.
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years; or
Within 10 years of the date of discover

Maine There is no limitation for actions based upon sexual acts toward
minors
Virginia Sexual Abuse occurring during the infancy of the person:

Within 20 years after the cause of action accrues

non-medical damages, a defendant who is found less than
25% at fault is only severally liable for them.

The fault to be considered for purposes of joint and several
liability is the fault attributable to the plaintiff, non-settling
defendants and any third-party defendant except the
plaintiff’'s employer.

Modified comparative fault

If a plaintiff is found to be equally or more at fault than the
defendant, he/she is not entitled to recover anything. If the
plaintiff’s negligence is found to be less than the negligence
of the defendant, the plaintiff’s award may be reduced to
reflect the share of fault.

It remains an open question as to how the comparative fault
provisions apply in multiple defendant actions.

Joint and several liability

ME imposes joint and several liability on multiple
defendants’ to an action.

Pure contributory negligence

VA does not recognize comparative negligence. Any
negligence on the part of the plaintiff which was the
proximate cause of the accident will bar the plaintiff from
recovery.
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Washington Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was
under the age of 18 and time is tolled until person reaches age
of 18:

Within 3 years of the alleged act;

Within 3 years of the time discovery that injury was
caused by said act; or

Within 3 years of the time of discovery that the act
caused the injury for which the claim is brought.

Joint and several liability

If separate and independent acts of negligence of two
defendants directly cause a single indivisible injury to a
plaintiff, either or both of the defendants are responsible for
the whole injury.

If the plaintiff elects to recover from just one defendant,
that defendant has the right to seek contribution from the
other liable defendants. The right of contribution between
joint tortfeasors means they also share the verdict rendered
equally regardless of degree of negligence.

Pure comparative fault

Plaintiff’s damages are reduced by percentage of fault.
Contributory fault chargeable to the claimant proportionally
diminishes the amount awarded as compensatory damages
but does not bar recovery.

Joint and several liability

WA has abolished joint and several liability. Parties to a
judgment are proportionately liable only for their share of
the total fault except 1) where plaintiff was not at fault, 2)
at-fault parties were acting in concert or 3) tortfeasor was
an agent or servant of another party.
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