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Alabama No 19 Code of Alabama 6-2-34(l) 

(2011) 
General 

· Within 2 years 
Arizona No 18 Arizona Revised Statute 12-

542(1) (2011) 
General 

· Within 2 years for injuries done to the person of another 
including causes of action for medical malpractice as defined in 
section 12-561 

Hawaii No 18 Hawaii Revised Statute 657-7 
(2011) 

General 
· Within 2 years 

Indiana No 18 Indiana Code 34-11-2-4(1) 
(2011) 

General 
· Within 2 years after the cause of action accrues 

Michigan No 18 Michigan Compiled Law 
600.5805(2) (2011) 
 
MCL 600.5805(10) 

General (assault, battery or false imprisonment) 
· 2 years 
 

General (negligence) 
· 3 years 

North Carolina No 18 North Carolina Statute 1-52 
(2011) 

General 
· Within 3 years of action 

Tennessee No 18 Tennessee Code Annotated 
28-3-104 (2011) 

General 
· Within 1 year after the cause of action accrued 

West Virginia No 18 West Virginia Code 55-2-12 
(2011) 

General 
· Within 2 years after the right to bring the same shall have 

accrued 
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Alaska Yes 18 Alaska Statutes 09-10-065 

(2011) 
Action may be brought at any time for violations of the following 
offenses: 

· Felony sexual abuse of a minor; 
· Felony sexual assault; or 
· Unlawful exploitation of a minor 

 
Action must be commenced within 3 years of the accrual of the claim 
for relief for the following offenses: 

· Misdemeanor sexual abuse of a minor; 
· Misdemeanor sexual assault; 
· Incest; or 
· Felony indecent exposure 

Arkansas Yes 18 Arkansas Code 16-56-130(a) 
(2011) 

Sexual Abuse which occurred when the person was less than 18 years 
of age but is not discovered until after the person reaches the age of 
majority: 

· Within 3 years from the time of discovery 
California Yes 18 California Civil Procedure 

Code 340.1(a) (2011) 
 
Also found under CA Civil 
Code 52.4(b) 

Childhood Sexual Abuse 
· Within 8 years after the date the person attains the age of 

majority; or  
· Within 3 years after the date the person discovers the causal 

connection of the injury, whichever period expires later 
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Colorado Yes 21 Colorado Revised Statute 13-

80-103.7(1) (2011) 
Sexual Assault or Sexual Offense Against a Child 

· Within 6 years after a disability has been removed for a person 
under disability1

· Within 6 years after a cause of action accrues, whichever 
occurs later and not thereafter 

; or 

 
If the person meets the definition of person under disability and brings 
a civil action 15 years or more after the person attains age 18, the 
plaintiff may only recover damages for medical and counseling 
treatment and expenses, plus costs and attorney fees. 
 
Claims of intentional sexual assault or battery committed during 
medical services are not subject to the 6 year statute of limitation 
when sexual touching occurred in a negligent manner (Colo. App 2007). 

Connecticut Yes 18 General Statutes of 
Connecticut 52-577d (2011)  
 
 
CT Statute 52-577e 

Sexual Abuse, Exploitation or Assault to a minor: 
· No later than 30 years from the date the person attains the age 

of majority 
 
Sexual Assault 1 or Aggravated Sexual Assault 1 

· Action may be brought at any time after the date of the act 
Delaware Yes 18 Delaware Code Title 10 8145 

(2012) 
The Child Victim’s Act of 2007 removed the statute of limitations for 
civil suits relating to child sexual abuse 

                                                           
1 Person under disability means any person who is a minor under eighteen years of age, a mental incompetent, or a person under other legal disability and who does not have a 
legal guardian. "Person under disability" also includes a victim of a sexual assault when the victim is in a special relationship with the perpetrator of the assault or is a victim of a 
sexual offense against a child or is a victim who is residing in an institutional facility, such as a nursing home, regional center, or residential facility for the treatment and care of 
persons with mental illness or for the care of persons with developmental disabilities and where the victim is psychologically or emotionally unable to acknowledge the assault 
or offense and the harm resulting therefrom. CRS 13-80-103.7(3.5)(a). 
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District of 
Columbia 

Yes 18 District of Columbia Official 
Code 12-301(11) (2012) 

Sexual Abuse that occurred while the victim was a minor: 
· 7 years after the person attains the age of 18; or 
· 3 years from the date of discovery, whichever is later 

Florida Yes 18 Florida Statute 95.11(7) 
(2011) 
 
 
 
 
 
FS 95.11(9) 

Abuse2

· Within 7 years after the age of majority; 
 

· Within 4 years after the person leaves the dependency of the 
abuser; or 

· Within 4 years from the time of discovery, whichever occurs 
later 

 
Sexual Battery Offenses on Victims Under age 16 

· Action may be commenced at any time 
Georgia Yes 18 Official Code of Georgia 9-3-

33.1(b) (2011) 
Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under age 
18: 

· Within 5 years of the date the person attains the age of 
majority 

Idaho Yes 18 Idaho Statute 6-1704(1) Child Abuse 
· Within 5 years from the date the person reaches age 18; or 
· After the person reaches age 18, within 5 years from the date 

of discovery, whichever occurs later  

                                                           
2 Abuse means any willful act that results in any physical, mental, or sexual injury that causes or is likely to cause the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health to be 
significantly impaired. FS 39.01(2) and FS 984.03(2). 
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Illinois Yes 18 Illinois Compiled Statute 735 

ILCS 5/13-202.2 
 
 
735 ILCS 5/13-225 

Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under 18 
years of age: 

· Within 20 years after the person attains the age of 18 years; or 
· Within 20 years of the date of discovery 

 
Predator Accountability3

· Within 10 years after the person attains the age of 18 years; or 
: 

· Within 10 years of the date of discover 
Iowa Yes 18 Iowa Code Title XV-3 614.8A 

(2011) 
 
 
IC Title XV-3 614.1 

Child Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was a child4

· Within 4 years from the time of discovery 

 but not 
discovered until after the person is the age of majority: 

 
Sexual abuse or Sexual Exploitation by a Counselor, Therapist or School 
Employee 

· Within 5 years of the date the person was last treated by the 
counselor or therapist; or 

· Within 5 years of the date the victim was last enrolled or 
attended the school 

Kansas Yes 18, 16 if 
married 

Kansas Statutes Annotated 
60-523 (2011) 

Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under 18 
years of age: 

· Within 3 years after the person attains 18 years of age; or 
· Within 3 years from the date of discovery, whichever occurs 

later 

                                                           
3 The Predator Accountability Act includes the acts of ‘sex trade’ (i.e. promoting prostitution, exploitation of a child, child pornography, etc.) which may involved adults and 
youth. 740 ILCS 128/10. 
4 Unable to find a definition for ‘child’. 
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Kentucky Yes 18 Kentucky Revised Statute 

413.249(2) (2011) 
Childhood Sexual Abuse or Childhood Sexual Assault against a person 
less than 18 years old: 

· Within 5 years of the commission of the act or the last of a 
series of acts by the same perpetrator;  

· Within 5 years of the date of discovery; or 
· Within 5 years after the victim attains the age of 18 years 

Louisiana Yes 18 Louisiana Revised Statute 
9:2800.9(A) 

Sexual Abuse of a Minor or Physical Abuse of a Minor resulting in 
permanent impairment or permanent physical injury or scarring: 

· 10 years from the day the minor attains majority and shall be 
suspended for all purposes until the minor reaches age of 
majority 

Maine Yes 18 Maine Revised Statute Title 
14 Part 2 Ch 205-1 752-C 
(2012) 

There is no limitation for actions based upon sexual acts toward minors 

Maryland Yes 18 Maryland Code 5-117(b) 
(2011) 

Sexual Abuse that occurred while the victim was a minor: 
· Within 7 years of the date the person attains the age of 

majority 
Massachusetts Yes 18 General Laws of 

Massachusetts Part III, Title 
V, 260-4C (2011) 

Sexual Abuse of Minors: 
· Within 3 years of the alleged act;  
· Within 3 years of the time of discovery, whichever period 

expires later 
 
Time limit for commencement of an action under this section is tolled 
for a child until the child reaches 18 years of age. 

Minnesota Yes 18 Minnesota Statute 
544.073(2)(a) (2011) 

Sexual Abuse5

· Within 6 years of the time of discovery 
: 

                                                           
5 Sexual Abuse is defined as Criminal Sexual Conduct 1st Degree when the person is under 13 and the actor is more than 36 months older or at least 13 but less than 16 and the 
actor is more than 48 months older (MS 609.342(1)(a-b); Criminal Sexual Conduct 4th Degree when the person is under 13 and the actor is no more than 36 months older, or 
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Mississippi Yes 21 Mississippi  Code Annotated 

15-1-35 (2011) 
 
MCS 15-1-59 

General6

· Within 1 years next after the cause of such action accrued 
 

 
Sex Abuse-related7

· Within 3 years 
 

Missouri Yes 18 Missouri Revised Statutes 
516.371 and 537.041 (2011) 

Childhood sexual abuse that occurred when the person was under 18 
years of age: 

· Within 10 years of the person attaining the age of 21; or 
· Within 3 years of the date of discovery, whichever occurs later 

Montana Yes 18 Montana Code Annotated 
27-2-216(1) (2011) 
 
 
Montana Code Annotated 
27-2-217(1) (2011) 

Childhood Sexual Abuse while the person was under 18 years of age: 
· Not later than 3 years after the act of childhood sexual abuse; 

or 
· Not later than 3 years after the person discovers the causal 

connection of the injury 
Ritual Abuse of Minor8

· Not later than 3 years after the act of ritual abuse of a minor; 
or  

 while the person was under 18 years of age: 

· Not later than 3 years after the person discovers the casual 
connection of the injury 

Nebraska Yes 19 Nebraska Revised Statute 28-
113(2) 

Sexual Assault of a Child 1st Degree9, 2nd Degree10 and 3rd Degree11

· Within 4 years after the date of the violation 
: 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
least 13 but less than 16 and the actor is more than 48 months older and in a position of authority over the person, or at least 16 but less than 18 and the actor is more than 48 
months older and in a position of authority over the person, or the actor has a significant relationship with the person and the person was at least 16 but under 18 (MS 609-
345(1)(a,b,e,f). 
6 Includes all actions for assault, assault and battery, maiming, false imprisonment, malicious arrest, or menace. 
7 Per “Statutes of Limitation on Child Sexual Abuse: 50 States and the District of Columbia” table provided by Andrea Piper-Wentland.  To include sex abuse-related, negligent-
related and IIED claims. 
8 A person commits the offense of ritual abuse of a minor if the person purposely or knowingly and as part of any ceremony, rite, or ritual or of any training or practice for any 
ceremony, rite, or ritual. MCA 45-5-627(1). 
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Nevada Yes 18 Nevada Revised Statute 

11.215(1) (2011) 
Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under 18 years of 
age: 

· Action must be commenced within 10 years after the person: 
-  reaches 18 years of age; or  
- discovers the causal connection of the injury 

New 
Hampshire 

Yes 18 Revised Statute Annotated 
508:4-g (2011) 

Sexual Assault and Related Offenses occurring when the person was 
under the age of 18 years: 

· 12 years of the person’s 18th birthday; or  
· 3 years of the time of discovery 

New Jersey Yes 18 New Jersey Statute 2A:61B-1 
(2011) 

Sexual Abuse occurring when the child was under the age of 18: 
· Within 2 years of the date of discovery 

New Mexico Yes 18 New Mexico Statute 37-1-
30(A) (2011) 

Childhood Sexual Abuse shall be commenced before the latest of the 
following dates: 

· The first instant of the person’s 24th birthday; or  
· 3 years from the discovery 

New York Yes 18 New York Civil Practice Law 
and Rules  213-c (2011) 

Certain Sexual Offenses12

· Within 5 years 
: 

North Dakota Yes 18 North Dakota Century Code 
28-01-25.1 (2011) 

Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under 18 
years of age: 

· Within 7 years after the person knew that a potential claim 
exists resulting from alleged childhood sexual abuse 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
9 Consists of sexual penetration when the victim is under 12 years of age and the actor is at least 19 years of age or older; or, the victim is at least 12 years of age but less than 16 
years and the actor is 25 years of age or older. NRS 28-319-01. 
10 Consists of sexual contact when the victim is 14 years of age or younger and the actor is at least 19 years of age or older; or, causes serious personal injury to the victim.  
“Fourteen years of age or younger” designates persons whose age is less than or under 14 years, and also designates persons who have reached and passed their 14 birthday but 
have not reached their 15th birthday. NRS 28-320.01(2). 
11 When the actor does not cause serious personal injury to the vicim. NRS 28-320.01(3). 
12 Includes offenses that could apply to minors but does not specifically state that the act need occur while the victim was under the age of 18, with the exception of the 
inclusion of Sexual Conduct Against a Child 1st Degree offense.  
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Ohio Yes 18 Ohio Revised Code 

2305.111(C) (2011) 
 
 
 
ORC 2305.115 

Assault or Battery Actions – Childhood Sexual Abuse when the child is 
under 18 years of age: 

· Within 12 years after the cause of action accrues, which is the 
date upon which the victim reaches the age of majority 

 
Assault or Battery Actions Against Mental Health Professional Based on 
Sexual Conduct or Contact: 

· Within 12 years after the cause of action accrues, which is the 
date upon which the victim reaches the age of majority 

Oklahoma Yes 18 Oklahoma Statutes 
Citationized Title 12 3-95(6) 
(2011) 

Childhood Sexual Abuse13 or Exploitation14

· Within 2 years of the alleged act; or 
 or Incest: 

· Within 2 years of the time of discovery 
 
Provided, however, that the time limit for commencement of an action 
pursuant to this paragraph is tolled for a child until the child reaches 
the age of 18 years or until 5 years after the perpetrator is released 
from the custody of a state, federal or local correctional facility or jail, 
whichever is later. 

Oregon Yes 18 Oregon Revised Statute  
12.117(1) (2011) 

Child Abuse that occurs while the person is under 18 year of age: 
· Action must be commenced before the person attains 40 years 

of age; or  
·  Not more than 5 years from the date the person discovers the 

causal connection between the child abuse and the injury, 
whichever period is longer 

                                                           
13 Child means any unmarried person under 18 years of age. OS Title 10A 1-1-105(7). 
14 Sexual exploitation includes but is not limited to allowing, permitting, or encouraging a child to engage in prostitution, as defined by law, by a person responsible for the 
health, safety, or welfare of a child, or allowing, permitting, encouraging, or engaging in the lewd, obscene, or pornographic, as defined by law, photographing, filming, or 
depicting of a child in those acts by a person responsible for the health, safety, and welfare of the child. 
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Pennsylvania Yes 18 Pennsylvania Code 42 Pa. 

CSA 5533(b)(2) (2011) 
Childhood Sexual Abuse when the person is under 18 years of age: 

· 12 years after attaining 18 years of age 
Rhode Island Yes 18 Rhode Island General Law 9-

1-51 (2011) 
Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under the 
age of 18: 

· Within 7 years of the alleged act; or 
· Within 7 years of the time of discovery, whichever period 

expires later 
South Carolina Yes 18 South Carolina Code of Laws 

15-3-555 (2011) 
Sexual abuse or Incest 

· Within 6 years after the person becomes 21 years of age; or 
· Within 3 years from the time of discovery, whichever occurs 

later 
South Dakota Yes 18 South Dakota Codified Laws 

26-10-25 (2011) 
Childhood Sexual Abuse: 

· Within 3 years of the alleged act; or  
· 3 years of the time of discovery 

 
No person who has reached the age of 40 years may recover damages 
from any person other than the person who perpetrated the actual act 
of sexual abuse. 

Texas Yes 18 Civil Practice and Remedies 
Code Title 2B 16.0045(a) 
(2011) 

Sexual Assault, Aggravated Sexual Assault or Continuous Sexual Abuse 
of a Young Child or Children15

· Not later than 5 years after the day the cause of action accrues 
: 

Utah Yes 18 Utah Code 78B-2-308(2) Intentional or negligent sexual abuse when the person was under 18 
years of age: 

· Within 4 years after the person attains the age of 18 years; or 
· Within 4 years after discovery only after attaining age of 18, 

whichever period expires later 

                                                           
15 The statute states (a) In this section, “child” has the meaning assigned by Section 22.011(c) [“child” means a person younger than 17 years of age]; however, the same statute 
also states that, to commit the offense of Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child or Children, “the actor is 17 years of age or older and the victim is a child younger than 14 
years of age”. 
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Vermont Yes 18 Vermont Statute Annotated 

12 VSA 522(a) (2012) 
Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under the 
age of 18: 

· Within 6 years of the alleged act; or 
· Within 6 years of the time of discovery, whichever period 

expires later 
Virginia Yes 18 Code of Virginia 8.01-243 

(2011) 
Sexual Abuse occurring during the infancy of the person: 

· Within 20 years after the cause of action accrues 
Washington Yes 18 RCW 4.16.340(1) (2011) Childhood Sexual Abuse that occurred when the person was under the 

age of 18 and time is tolled until person reaches age of 18: 
· Within 3 years of the alleged act; 
· Within 3 years of the time discovery that injury was caused by 

said act; or 
· Within 3 years of the time of discovery that the act caused the 

injury for which the claim is brought. 
Wisconsin Yes 18 Wisconsin Statute 893.587 

(2011) 
 
WS 893.585(1) 

Sexual Assault of a Child16

· Before the injured party reaches the age of 35 years 
 

 
Sexual Exploitation by a Therapist 

· Within 3 years after the cause of action accrues 
Wyoming Yes 18 Wyoming Statute 1-3-105(b) Sexual Assault when the person was a minor: 

· 8 years after the minor’s 18th birthday; or  
· 3 years after the discovery 

 

                                                           
16 Includes Sexual Exploitation by a member of the clergy that occurs while the person is under the age of 18. WS 895-442(2)(a). 


